Title Image


Catholics celebrate seven sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Holy Orders, Matrimony, Penance and Anointing of the Sick. The sacraments are “a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of spiritual life” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1210).

A sacrament is a sacred sign instituted by Christ to give grace and share in God's own life.

“The sacraments of Christian initiation – Baptism, Confirmation, and the Eucharist lay the foundations of every Christian life. The grace of Christ in the sacraments bears a certain likeness to the origin, development, and nourishment of natural life. The faithful are born anew by Baptism, strengthened by the sacrament of Confirmation, and receive in the Eucharist the food of eternal life. We receive in increasing measure the treasures of the divine life” (CCC, 1212).

The Sacraments of Healing are: Penance and Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick. These sacraments offer healing from physical and spiritual illness and suffering.

The Sacraments of Holy Orders and Matrimony “are directed towards the salvation of others. They serve to build up the People of God” (CCC, 1534)